asia dive sites
asian scuba diving








Asia Dive News : PADI announces 2008 Asia Pacific Member Awards

PADI, (The Professional Association of Diving Instructors) Asia Pacific has announced the finalists of the PADI Asia Pacific Member Awards for 2008.

At the end of 2004 PADI Asia Pacific undertook the initiative to build a more rewarding and recognition based benefit program for PADI Members. Continuing the enormous success of the newly revised program, PADI Asia Pacific runs the fourth annual PADI Asia Pacific Member Awards 2008. The awards recognise excellence and innovation in the Dive Industry and are considered very prestigious.

A panel of key PADI stakeholders met to judge the finalist in each category and the winners will be announced at the PADI Pavilion (Stand J01 & K02) at ADEX 2008 at Suntec, Singapore on Friday 18th April at 5pm.

The Finalists are:

Diver Training Award:
This award is to recognise the outstanding achievements and professionalism in relation to raising the standards in the field of Diver Training.

Crystal Dive Resort, Thailand
Pro Dive Cairns, Australia
Remote Area Dive, Australia

Instructor Development Award:
This award is to celebrate outstanding achievements and commitment to PADI’s Instructor Development.

Crystal Dive Resort, Thailand
Diving Plaza, Australia
Mermaids Dive Center, Thailand

Young Achiever in Diving Award
This award recognises a young achiever’s contribution to the development of a vibrant diving industry through their local Dive Centre/Resort.

Bradley Davis, Australia
Patrick Ewbank, Indonesia
Rhyanne Davis, Australia

Project AWARE Environmental Award:
This award aims to recognise outstanding ecological achievements with a focus on fostering environmental and cultural understanding, appreciation and conservation.

Crystal Dive Resort, Thailand
Kon-Tiki Thailand, Thailand
Sea Explorer’s Siquijor, Philippines

Tourism Award:
This category recognises excellence in the planning of tourism infrastructure and/or services with a focus on entrepreneurial vision and integration with the environment.

Clement Lee, Malaysia
Dive! Tutukaka, New Zealand
Rod Punshon, Australia

Diving for Tomorrow Innovation Award:
The purpose of the Diving for Tomorrow Innovation Award is to recognise and celebrate innovation within the diving industry, whether large or small, and to inspire others.

Abyss Scuba Diving, Australia
Dive! Tutukaka, New Zealand
Sunrise Diving, Thailand

Outstanding (Dive Centre/Resort) Business Award:
This award is to recognise outstanding business performance, initiatives and achievements across all areas of business operation.

Aquatic Adventures Glen Iris, Australia
Mermaids Dive Center, Thailand
Pro Dive Cairns, Australia

For further information: